‘Toy Story 4’ Takes Home Oscar Gold at the 92nd Academy Awards

Toy Story 4 7 won the Oscar for Best Animated Feature at the 2020 Academy Awards. Read Josh Cooley, Jonas Rivera & Mark Nielsen’s acceptance speech.
Toy Story 4 Oscar Acceptance Speech

The 92nd Academy Awards were held tonight (February 9, 2020) and Pixar’s Toy Story 4 was just awarded the win for Animated Feature Film. Taking the stage to accept the coveted award was director Josh Cooley, and producers Jonas Rivera and Mark Nielsen.

Mark Nielsen began by noting, “We are so, so grateful for this honor. We just want, on behalf of our incredible cast and our crew up at Pixar Animation Studios — We just want to thank the Academy for honoring our film alongside so many beautiful animated films this year. We’re just proud to be among them.”

Jonas Rivera said, “We take great pride in the fact that we get to make family films and Toy Story 4 is really a love letter to our families. This is for our parents, this is for our wives, this is for our kids. We love you”.

Lastly, director Josh Cooley stated, “We want to thank the movie-going audience so much, especially those that grew up with Toy Story. We hope that your adventures with Buzz and Woody made your growing up a little bit easier. My wife — I love you so much. Thank you.”

This Toy Story 4 win marks the tenth Animated Feature Film Academy Award win for Pixar Animation Studios. In the past, Pixar Animation Studios has won a total of 20 Academy Awards and received a total of 64 nominations across various categories.

History of Pixar Wins & Nominations at the Academy Awards


Toy Story• Original Score: Randy Newman – Nominated 
• Original Song: “You’ve Got a Friend in Me” – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated
Special Achievement Award: John Lasseter – Won
A Bug’s Life• Original Score: Randy Newman – Nominated 
Toy Story 2• Original Song: “When She Loved Me” – Nominated 
Monsters, Inc.• Animated Feature Film – Nominated (Shrek, Won) 
• Original Score: Randy Newman – Nominated 
Original Song: “If I Didn’t Have You” – Won
• Sound Editing – Nominated
Finding NemoAnimated Feature Film: Andrew Stanton – Won 
• Original Score: Thomas Newman – Nominated 
• Sound Editing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated 
The IncrediblesAnimated Feature Film: Brad Bird – Won 
Sound Editing: Michael Silvers & Randy Thom – Won 
• Sound Mixing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated 
Cars• Animated Feature Film – Nominated (Happy Feet, Won) 
• Original Song: “Our Town” – Nominated 
RatatouilleAnimated Feature Film: Brad Bird – Won
• Original Score: Michael Giacchino – Nominated 
• Sound Editing – Nominated 
• Sound Mixing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated
WALL•EAnimated Feature Film: Andrew Stanton – Won 
• Original Score – Nominated 
• Original Song: “Down to Earth” – Nominated 
• Sound Editing – Nominated Best Sound Mixing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated 
UpAnimated Feature Film: Pete Docter – Won 
• Best Picture – Nominated 
Original Score: Michael Giacchino – Won 
• Sound Editing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated
Toy Story 3Animated Feature Film: Lee Unkrich – Won 
• Best Picture – Nominated 
Original Song: “We Belong Together” – Won
• Sound Editing – Nominated 
• Original Screenplay – Nominated
Cars 2No Academy Award nominations
BraveAnimated Feature Film: Mark Andrews & Brenda Chapman – Won
Monsters UniversityNo Academy Award nominations
Inside OutAnimated Feature Film: Pete Docter & Jonas Rivera – Won
• Original Screenplay – Nominated
The Good DinosaurNo Academy Award nominations
Finding DoryNo Academy Award nominations
Cars 3No Academy Award nominations
CocoAnimated Feature Film: Lee Unkrich – Won
Original Song: “Remember Me” – Won
Incredibles 2• Animated Feature Film – Nominated (Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse Won)
Toy Story 4Animated Feature Film: Josh Cooley – Won
• Original Song: “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” – Nominated


Luxo, Jr.Nominated (A Greek Tragedy, Won)
Tin ToyJohn Lasseter & William (Bill) Reeves – Won
Geri’s GameJan Pinkava – Won
For The BirdsRalph Eggleston – Won
Mike’s New CarNominated (The ChubbChubbs!, Won)
Boundin’Nominated (Harvie Krumpet, Won) 
One Man BandNominated (The Moon & The Son: An Imagined Conversation, Won) 
LiftedNominated (The Danish Poet, Won)
PrestoNominated (La Maison en Petits Cubes, Won)
Day & NightNominated (The Lost Thing, Won)
La LunaNominated (The Fantastic Flying Books of Mr. Morris Lessmore, Won)
Sanjay’s Super TeamNominated (Bear Story, Won)
PiperAlan Barillaro – Won
LOUNominated (Dear Basketball, Won)
BaoDomee Shi – Won
KitbullNominated (Hair Love, Won)

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like