Coco Awards News: BAFTA, Producer Guild & Eddie Nominations Along with Oscars Technical Award

Pixar’s Coco nominated for a BAFTA, EDDIE and Producer’s Guild of America award
Coco Bafta PGA EDDIE

As awards season steps into high gear, the good news keeps pouring in for Pixar’s Coco. The film took home the Golden Globe for Best Animated Feature this weekend and over the last week has garnered several other nominations and technical accolades.

This morning (Jan 9) Coco was nominated for Best Animated Film (along with Loving Vincent & My Life as a Courgette) at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA). Additionally, last week Steve Bloom (Coco‘s Film Editor) received a nomination from the American Cinema Editors (EDDIE Awards) for his work on the film and Producer, Darla K. Anderson received a nomination for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Picture from the Producer’s Guild of America.

The Producer’s Guild of America Guild awards will take place on January 20, The EDDIE awards will take place on January 26, and the BAFTA awards will air on February 18.

Coco Oscar Scientific and Technical

Outside of the recent nominations, we were also thrilled to see that Pixar will be honored with a  Scientific and Technical Achievement Academy Award. Ray Feeney, Academy Award recipient and chair of the Scientific and Technical Awards Committee noted, “This year we are happy to honor a very international group of technologists for their innovative and outstanding accomplishments. These individuals have significantly contributed to the ongoing evolution of motion pictures, and their efforts continue to empower the creativity of our industry.”

The team (listed below) is receiving the Academy Award for their work on Pixar’s in-house animation system named, Presto. Presto allows artists to work interactively in scene context with full-resolution geometric models and sophisticated rig controls and has significantly increased the productivity of character animators at Pixar.

The award will go to – Rob Jensen for the foundational design and continued development, to Thomas Hahn for the animation toolset, and to George ElKoura, Adam Woodbury and Dirk Van Gelder for the high-performance execution engine of the Presto Animation System at Pixar Animation Studios.

Congratulations to the award recipients as well as the nominees.

Leave a Reply

You May Also Like